My First MAC Cosmetics Purchase

Believe it or not, I wasn’t one of those make-up crazed teens who went to the movies on Friday nights with my friends, looking like a clown. I was the bookworm who spent the weekends on the front porch swing with a blanket, and wasn’t allowed to wear make-up until I was 13– clear mascara and powder. Only recently, within the 2 years or so, have I really gotten into buying products and experimenting with colors.

I buy most of it with “my” money, from photography, so that my husband doesn’t feel like he is feeding an addiction. Which he totally would be if he gave in to my every impulsive lipstick purchase.

Anyway, we were out of town at the beginning of August and I went to MAC with the intention to purchase something for the first time in my life. I was kind of overwhelmed since it was more of a boutique styled store front than a full-fledge store. There were a lot of women shopping and getting makeovers– WAY too many in proportion to the amount of employees on hand. It took me forever to pick out what I wanted even though I watch Tanya Burr’s tutorials all the time on YouTube and knew exactly what I wanted to buy.

So, here is what I ended up with:

url

(Woodwinked- eye shadow)

images

(Blush- Frankly Scarlet, above)

I am more than happy with my purchases! MAC truly is the most pigmented makeup I have ever used! The colors and indulgent look really help bring your face to life. So much so, in fact, that the first day I wore the blush (Frankly Scarlet) I kept asking people if it looked okay because I was second guessing my intuition. I’ve never worn a blush remotely as bright as this one!

The woodwinked eye shadow is the perfect neutral shade. It provides a bit of shimmer and mystery but, it’s light enough for a day look. Blends well with almost anything!

Now, you might not be surprised to know that these two very small purchases rang in at a eye popping $40; not my ideal amount to spend. I am a frugal shopper and this was a major splurge for me. However, I wouldn’t go back and do anything differently. Even though, I don’t feel the need to run out and spend $360 on an entire MAC pallet, I do feel like this spur of the moment snag was a great buy. If you aren’t ready to splurge on colors and products you have never used you can Internet search MAC make-up dupes, including the specific color you might want to copy, in order to find a cheaper version.

Just thought I would let you guys know how great you can feel about such a mini haul and give you some ideas for an end of summer look!

One thought on “My First MAC Cosmetics Purchase

  1. They are two great picks for your first MAC purchase. MAC is more expensive, but the quality is there and you won’t be disappointing. Woodwinked is one of my all-time favorites! x

Leave a Reply

