OOTD: Monochrome Mash-Up

This is a look that I put together last night, although feeling extremely crappy, because my husband and I had an important meeting to attend. Even though the nature of the meeting was quite serious, I wanted to put a little edge and uniqueness into the outfit… maybe to take the edge off how I was feeling?? I’m not sure but, I hope you like it.

I wanted to be comfortable, channeling a little bit of my inner rocker chick, and give a little bit of spice.

IMG_7322

Black and white can be so boring! And separates can become predictable. But, put the two together and you might be surprised what a little closet “mash-up” can result in!

IMG_7327

This outfit is something I think could be worn to numerous events and would be ideal for someone who has an office job. It has a bit of a ‘gal about town’ flair to it without being overly showy; work appropriate yet, transitional. Especially, when you evaluate each piece individually– which we will do in the credit portion.

IMG_7330

I paired this look with an intense eye, straightened hair, and nude lip. I love the Revelon Super Lustrous Lipstick in “Nude Attitude” for makeup like this. (see below)

IMG_7352

Fashion Credits:

Xhilaration Juniors Convertible High Low Challis Maxi Dress– No longer sold in-store but, on clearance online. I picked up this dress at Target for $20-$25 over the summer for a work event. It is flowing, comfortable, and cute whether you wear it strapless, spaghetti straps attached, or layer it like I did here. Mine is in the color “Black” but, as you can see, it isn’t solid colored. The white design gives it a bit of a tribal look, which I love and is really in right now. To see the top of this dress, please click the link.

14th Union Black Semi-Sheer High Low T-Shirt (similar)- I couldn’t find a photo of this, probably because 14th Union is not very widespread. I got this shirt at Nordstrom Rack some time ago. It’s very plain which is actually great because you can have every element of your outfit doing something crazy. I layered this with a black camisole because I didn’t want the top of the dress poking out and it gave me some added support, if you know what I mean. I am also in love with this top from River Island.

Francesca’s Collections Black Blazer w/ White Lapel (similar)- At the beginning of spring I snagged this jacket for $10 on the FINAL SALE rack at Francesca’s and have been waiting 6 months to wear it. It gives a very polished look to an otherwise casual outfit. Of course, normally, I would wear it with a pop of color but, I think it worked very well with other items in its color family.

Owl Pendant Necklace (similar)- A gift from my mom when owls first started becoming popular. My love for owls is just as real as when she got me this!

Fuchsia Suede Pumps (similar)- My husband got these for me way back when he was just my boyfriend. I don’t usually find a lot of things I like at Rack Room Shoes but, these jumped out at me and I’ve been able to pair them with several ensembles since. They are girly and funky at the same time and I think they really speak for themselves in terms of style. The Steve Maddens in the link are a bit more on the feminine side, however they could be slightly more adaptable.

That’s it for today– Have a wonderful Friday! 🙂

Don’t forget to comment, follow/subscribe, &/or like! Thanks!

3 thoughts on “OOTD: Monochrome Mash-Up

Leave a Reply

