Rainy Day Glam Up

Husband and I are bumming around the house in workout clothes and eating leftover chinese. This can only mean one thing… it’s a cloudy, rainy day. But, even when we aren’t feeling our best, sometimes, we women need a bit of a glam up to make ourselves have a more positive outlook; even if it’s just for a few moments.

IMG_7390

love rainy days at home watching movies, snuggled in a big, fluffy blanket. But, just in case you are going out tonight,  this makeup look might work for you too!

IMG_7391

These colors would work on many different skin tones and eye colors because most of them are shimmers and made stand-out from the complexion. I think this is a great, simplified smokey eye option for daytime in the fall and winter. Definitely not your, run-of-the-mill “let me run to the store” look but, if you want a bit of edge in your day-to-day then maybe this is the kind of thing to go for.

IMG_7396

Products Used:

Smashbox Liner in Taupe- This is a great, creamy liner! I love the way it comes in the Smashbox Softbox palette because I like to use it as more of a paint pot. They have released new versions of this palette so, I’m not sure if the one in the link is still available. I put this all over my lid and also underneath my eye.

Revelon Illuminance Creme Shadow in Copper Canyon I’ve had these shadows for ages and I really couldn’t live without them! They glide on and blend seamlessly. For this look, I used the gold color from the palette. I used this all over the lid, on top of the taupe liner.

L’Oreal HiP Studio Secrets Professional Matte Shadow Duo in (917) Dashing– I really love the girly look of these shadows when applied together, however, I tend to mix the pink on with other colors because such a light shade kind of makes me look sick haha! For the eye makeup above I blended the black color into the crease and outer edge of my eye.

Smashbox Shadow in Truffle- This shadow is my favorite in the palette I mentioned above. I just hit pan on it and I am going to be heartbroken if I cannot replace the palette once I’ve gotten down to the nitty gritty on the others 😦 This color is still available HERE, however, it is described as a “matte taupe” and the one I have is more iridescent. Definitely swatch, if possible, before purchase! I used this in the inner corner to lighten up the brownish cast from the Revelon Creme Shadow.

Ulta  Eyeliner Pencil in Black/Brown (similar)- They have changed the design and function of this liner since I bought mine but, all-in-all, the staying power of this liner is great! I put is just on my waterline for added effect.

Maybelline Volum’ Express The Falsies Mascara in Blackest Black– After curling my eyelashes I applied this to the top and bottom. I really like this mascara for being a drugstore product. It does what it says it should. See my review, here.

If you try this look, please post a link to it in the comments! Have a great day! 🙂

9 thoughts on “Rainy Day Glam Up

  1. Pingback: Eye Makeup: Desert Sunset | Lay Bare, With A Little Flair

Leave a Reply

