Frolick Into Fall

a4fc491ffaa2759b6ff614d67fb9934fRompers and playsuits are something I’m a BIG fan of for any season. Granted, you have to find the right style and fit for your body type, which I’m still learning  re-learning due to post baby body changes. However, I truly think that a one piece can be just as fun to pair with other items as all separates are.

I just scored this lovely little thing on the left for $9.99 on summer clearance on the Urban Outfitters website. To see more deals like this, click here and start shopping! This is my first purchase from UO because I normally consider them to basically be an overpriced Forever21. And I don’t frequently visit the store because I don’t have one in the city where I live. But, here’s why I caved in and ordered this steal of a deal… Rompers are completely transitional! Although the one I got is spaghetti strapped, floral print, and doesn’t have long pants, there are still ways that I can wear it to adapt it for fall.

Tip: Pay attention to detail!! Color and pattern are most important in this area. Don’t chose an all out summer pattern if you plan to wear this year round. Slipping into a romper that has sunflowers all over it in the middle of December might be a little weird. Also, the color, even if there is no pattern at all can get you stuck in one season. For example, a lot of people associate “kelly green” with spring and “emerald green” with fall and winter, BUT jewel tones like emerald can be paired with brighter colors for transition into warmer weather too = emerald as the winner in the “which gives you the biggest bang for your buck?” game we all play with ourselves while shopping.

To give you an example of how I would carry my favorite playsuit into the current season and weather, please have a look at the collection below.

l-8

I’ve paired this jumper from The Hut, which I completely adore, with a black blazer; structured, but not overly business-like. Next, I like the close-toed bootie without stockings for this look. It’s not quite cold enough in fall to wear tights with an outfit like this and I think it would cut the line of the leg up too much, especially if you’re shorter. I added these gold, flower, cutout earrings to match the print of the playsuit. However, since they are gold, they are a neutral and appropriate for most times of the year.

The bag… the bag! Oh goodness… If that exact bag wasn’t over $3,000 dollars it would be mine! I added it to the outfit because I was really drawn to the color. It’s in line with an autumn, earth-tone look but breaks up the monotony of the black pieces and really plays on the green in the fabric. Remember, things don’t always have to match; they can just ‘go’.

For the make-up I really like a nice mix between a gold/bronze eye for this, instead of an intense black-based eye, so I added in MAC eyeshadow in Woodwinked. I neutral face with just a bit of bronzer and a light, natural blusher is a fresh and youthful look for this time of year so I chose NARS mini blush and bronzer duo, which I might just have to buy in real life… Finally, for the lip, a Topshop lipstick in ‘Ohh La La’. It is currently sold out online and since I do not live near a Topshop I can’t see this up close and personal. However, from the web view it looks gorgeous and I just might look for this little pop of color when I’m in New York in October.

I hope you guys like what I put together!

What are your thoughts on rompers? Thumbs up or thumbs down?
Please comment, like, follow/subscribe!! 🙂 Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

