Blog Your Heart Out Award

I have been officially blown away by the fact that I have only been blogging for a month and a half and am already nominated for the “Blog Your Heart Out” award!

Even though I am new to blogging and am still discovering my blogger persona, I have to say thank you to the wonderful followers who keep me going. You have no idea how much each like and comment on my posts lights up my day πŸ™‚

Which brings me to the biggest thank you I have to make today, to Angie @ rubyangel711, who nominated me (and many other worthy people) for this award; and what a sentimental reward it is to be included in this awesome community. We all share a passion for contributing a piece of our word to everyone else’s. So, just keep blogging!

Image

The rules are as follows: answer the five questions and nominate five other bloggers of your choice.

Here goes!

1. What/who encouraged you to start blogging?

When blogging first became popular I thought it was dumb, just like I did with Facebook, Instagram…etc. But, as my search for creative outlets broadened I began to explore blogging a bit more. I blogged during most of my pregnancy as a way to release stress and realized that I really like it. When I started Lay Bare, With A Little Flair I basically wanted a place where I could be myself and talk about anything that was bothering me, interested me, and took place in my family. Somewhere along the way my love for online shopping and makeup morphed the blog into what it is now; a mix up of my personality with some cosmetics thrown on it πŸ˜‰

2. How did you choose what topic(s) to blog about?

I found that when I was writing about my personal life I felt guilty and self-centered so, I started focusing more on positive things that made me feel good. What girl doesn’t feel good when they have just mastered a new eyeliner technique, got a new outfit for date night, or read a great book?? So, I started talking about that kind of stuff instead, and it really boosted my confidence.

3. What is something that most people don’t know about you?

From looking at me, most people can’t tell that I’m mixed. My mom is African-American, Indian, and Caucasian. My dad is Caucasian. I think that might be why I am really into makeup. My skin (although olive) is a lot darker than my mom’s so I had to learn to apply makeup, pretty much on my own, since her style and the shades she used were so different from mine.

4. What three words describe your style?

Vintage, Fresh, Charming

5. What do you like to do when you are not blogging?

I like to spend time with my family a lot! Whether watching a movie, having a cook out, or going to the beach. I read a lot of fiction; it’s a good escape for the brain. I volunteer, love cooking, and surf Pinterest on a regular basis. I exercise regularly- either jogging, Pilates, supping, or insanity… I am determined to get back into shape after having my baby. I adore traveling and take the opportunity whenever it comes up. I’m also a photographer and it is probably my greatest passion, besides my husband and children.

My 5 nominees for the Blog Your Heart Out Award are:

1. Melissa Ann from The Fashion Huntress

2. Natalie from Name’s Not Ashley

3. Carol from Creme de la Carol

4. Jennifer from Apartment Wife

5. Christina from Life Being Girly

Have fun!

Quin XOXXO

5 thoughts on “Blog Your Heart Out Award

Leave a Reply

