OOTD: First & Foremost

First & foremost, let me just say that you should never, ever, ever wear brand new shoes to walk around in the city of Manhattan. At least not brand new ankle booties without socks. Yikes!

Yesterday was our first full day (one of many to come) in NY and I couldn’t have been more excited. I picked something casual and comfortable to wear. It was a super sunny, crisp, fall day; totally gorgeous! I didn’t know that the ankle booties would get me problems until I started walking for more than 30 minutes and we were already too far away from the house to go back for socks…etc. So, like a true fashionista I stuck it out and now have humongous gashes on my heels where blisters used to be. Oh well, it was worth it. Lets just say, you’ve been warned.

We spent the day doing a few just for fun things, a few educational things, and eat lots of yummy food! Food is always my favorite part 😉

IMG_7839

IMG_7841

IMG_7845IMG_7860

IMG_7896

I don’t think I could ever live in NYC, unless I was single, because the hustle and bustle of the big city lifestyle isn’t really my speed. I’m quite the homebody and enjoy my quiet time in my own space, and wide open area where I can just breathe. But, a week surrounded by people from the world over, experiencing different languages, cultures, sights, and smells all in this ‘melting pot’ of a place is really amazing. It always takes my breath away to see how outstandingly diverse the human race can be and yet, we all have so much in common.

Fashion Credit:

Cardigan: Borrowed from my mom

Black Blouse: Target, approx $20

Boyfriend Jeans: Gap, $40

Ankle Booties: Nordstrom Rack, $70 (splurge!)

I also thought my mom looked nice today and talked her into letting me use some photos for the blog. Isn’t my mama cute?

IMG_7848

And she got her gorgeous, military style, navy jacket at a consignment store!

Fashion Tip: Don’t be afraid to look through consignment and resale store clothing, as well as Goodwill, or eBay. You never know what you’ll find! One man’s trash is another man’s treasure. 😉

I hope you all are having a wonderful week so far. Happy Hump Day!

3 thoughts on “OOTD: First & Foremost

  1. well the boots are fab, beauty is pain, right? ;D I would love to visit NY someday, but like you, I don’t think I could ever live there. I’m definitely a homebody who likes things low key.

Leave a Reply

