Eye Makeup: Atonement

Two eye makeup looks in one week?! Someone has too much time on their hands…but, what else is a girl to do when her hubby is off on a business trip?

Today, I want to show you what I put together, inspired by Keira Knightley in 2007 at the “Atonement” premiere. Now, you might be thinking, ‘Omg, 2007? What about current trends?’ Just take a look:

pa-5021811

I think this a great alternative to a dark smokey eye. Keira’s eyeshadow here, has more of a sultry, autumn/winter inspired, temptress look. I love girl who’s not afraid to wear a bold brow and dramatic eye makeup. However, a great thing about this is that it’s extremely wearable. Although full of extra flair, you don’t need a makeup artist to apply it. The toned down colors are wonderful for an October date night or an evening out with your girlfriends.

IMG_8448

IMG_8451

IMG_8457

IMG_8461

I decided, after my Desert Sunset post, that I don’t use my Stila Ultimate Color Palette enough so, it’s the only thing I used for this experiment. Although it’s discontinued, I think you guys could find fabulous dupes for these colors. Unfortunately, the palette doesn’t list the colors by name so I am posting pictures of the ones I used.

First, I, of course, used the trusty Urban Decay Lid Primer. I’m telling you, if you haven’t invested in this yet, do it now!

Then I applied a shimmery, rust color all over the makeup platform area of my eye. It looks like this:

IMG_8472

I made sure to blend it out really well with a fluffy brush so it didn’t look abrupt but, soft instead.

Next, I used a bronze shadow in the crease of my eye with a stiff shadow brush. I don’t think that these shadows have a very nice finish; the application process actually feels irritating to me. But, this color does have a really nice pigmentation. It’s almost like a cross between MAC’s “Woodwinked” and Urban Decay’s “Smog”.

IMG_8471

The khaki green color you see below I put on a small shading brush and put it only the bottom half of my lid; from the crease to the upper lashline.

IMG_8469

Time for the finishing touches… Lower lashline anyone? I brushed a shimmering ash/brown color (below) under my lower lashes.

IMG_8475

My brow bone got a pinch of peach.

IMG_8470

I used the cream colored eye pencil from the L’oreal Double Extended Eye Illuminator in “Black Quartz”. The website states that this particular pencil duo is for brown eyes but, I find that they both compliment my green eyes just fine. I don’t think it’s necessary to ‘follow the rules’ when it comes to makeup application. Just because the box or bottle might say one thing doesn’t mean that’s the only way. Don’t be afraid to experiment, beauties!

I finished off by slipping on my Smashbox Hyperlash Mascara, my favorite. I didn’t curl my eyelashes like I normally do, just because Keira Knightley has semi-straight looking lashes. She has a bit of a tomboy look and I didn’t want to overly glam up the style.

What do you guys think of this? Would you rock it?

Leave a Reply

