Progress Report: Matter Over Mind

Well, they say that the destination isn’t most important but, that it’s the journey along the way. Let’s hope that’s true because this week, I haven’t fallen off the bandwagon… I just don’t know if I ever really got on.

I was so busy this week that most days I didn’t eat anything significant until 5 or 6 o’clock and since Aunt Flo made herself at home for a nice cozy visit this week, I spent most of my free time in bed, doubled over with cramps. I finished editing one wedding day, just to turn around and prepare to photograph another one. Not to mention my house was so cluttered with clean laundry I never had the chance to put away that I was feeling very overwhelmed by it all. I would say that the word “diet” didn’t really fit in with many of my plans this week, for sure. I envy people that can say no to a slice of apple pie or pizza, ’cause I sure have a hard time.

Plus, we have a new friend who is very generous and decided to bring over Indonesian food when I got home from my photography job on Sunday.

I’m already frustrated with myself, regardless of how much I go jogging…etc. But, because I promised to weigh in once a week, I have stayed true to that.

After much agonizing about stepping on the scale I was surprised to have lost 2.6 pounds! It’s probably mostly water but, it still makes me feel good to know I didn’t completely botch up my goal. I am pretty happy overall with this week’s success 🙂

I do hope, though, that this week lends itself to being a bit more flexible when it comes to fitting it workout times and, now that we’ve gone grocery shopping (which I loathe), I have ingredients to make low cal dinners. I have planned at least 3 weeks worth of recipes and hope that I can stick with indulgence in their healthfulness. I find that mid-week meals are usually easier for me than the weekends, when I’m around my friends or out to eat. Do you face the same problems? What is your favorite mid-week meal/snack? How did you do with your weigh in this week?

Home-Style Meatloaf  is one of my favorite easy things to make. Click the link to get the recipe and try it out on your family tonight! My husband and step-son love it and it’s full of ‘good for you’ yummies. 🙂

Related Article:

2 thoughts on “Progress Report: Matter Over Mind

  1. I feel your pain. While I haven’t really struggled with wanting to lose weight (yet), I really want to have a healthier lifestyle. I loathe both grocery shopping and cooking, so it’s really hard for me to stay motivated. Then when I do make the effort to menu plan and buy groceries, something always seems to come up (life happens) and then the food spoils and I’m eating bowls of cereal and hot pockets anyway.

Leave a Reply

