October 2013 Favorites!

October Favorites

My October favorites are coming right on time this month and I feel like, although my list is simple, I picked some reliable tidbits to share with you 🙂 So let’s get started, shall we?

BEAUTY

  • This past month I rediscovered my love for True Match foundation by  L’Oreal Paris. I use the color “N4 Buff Beige”, which gives me a little more of a tanned look than my other foundations so, it compliments warm, fall colors around my eyes really well. For those of you who haven’t tried this, for one reason or another, I will warn you that this formula is rather thick and is definitely a full coverage foundation. In fact, I have the habit of applying it as I would normally and then just buffing a bit off with a tissue before putting on the rest of my makeup. Once the color sets into your skin it looks a lot more natural than when it’s been freshly used.

I wouldn’t, as a rule, use this as a summer base for any kind of ‘dewy’ looks, unless you use a powerful moisturizer underneath. However, in the heat, this tends to feel like my face is melting off so that’s why I keep it around for every day wear in the colder months. Also, since it’s very inexpensive, at only $8.99, I use it as an alternative to my more high-end foundations which tend to get used up more quickly if they are overly worn.

  • I ranted and raved about the Revlon PhotoReady BB Cream to SO many people over the last month! If you guys read my “Three Steps to A Fresh Face”  post, then you already know how much I loved it from the very first use. Seriously, my new beauty bff. A very, very little bit goes a long way and the effects of moisturizer, smoothing, and concealing last all day. I never feel like my face is greasy or weighed down after putting it on…or even 14 hours later. It also creates the perfect base for my next favorite…
  • Rimmel Stay Matte Powder, love of my life. Why I didn’t just go ahead a long time ago, when I first heard about it, I don’t know. But, what I know now is that it couldn’t be pried from my hands! It has an even finish and gives your makeup the flawless outcome you see well-known makeup artists create. I can’t believe this is less than $6. It feels so luxe and delivers such a high-end result…!
  • Lip colors seem to be what everyone’s talking about right now. The red, the berries, the burgundy… we love them all! The one I find myself wearing most lately is Maybelline SuperStay 14 Hr Lipstick in “Wine & Forever”. It’s a richly pigmented, deep Merlot color. Some people might say it’s more suitable for night-time wear but, personally, I wear it during the day too. I think it pairs nicely with a faux leather piece mixed with something feminine and flowy. The color gives you a bit of an edgy, vamp look and stays on for 14+ hours, just as advertised. Totally a favorite of mine for this season!
  • To wash all of this muck off  of my face, I picked up Clean & Clear Morning Burst Skin Brightening Facial Cleanser. I have always loved the morning burst line but, I fell into a rut of washing my face with hand soap… Oh! the shame! 😮 Trust me, I’m blushing just telling you that. But, now that winter is approaching, it’s even more important for me to keep my skin in tip-top shape. I adore the way my face feels after using this product. Although it’s a little thin and it can be really easy to squeeze out too much, not a lot is needed. The scrubbing, bursting beads take away all the dead cells that can accumulate and infuse oxygen and caffeine into your pores. Also, it smells divine; like lemon and papya! I will, for sure, be using this faithfully.

MUSIC

I am currently obsessed with UK actress & singer, Natalia Kills’, album “Trouble” that dropped on September 2nd. She has such passion, talent, and an “I don’t care what you think of me” attitude; all of which come across in her songs. Natalia reminds me of a cross between Jessie J and Katy Perry. You have no idea how much love I have for this woman and her music; not to mention, her insanely, awesome sense of style!! Just have a look —> click here.

My favorite from the disc is the song, featuring the same name as the album title, “Trouble”. Check it out on YouTube HERE!

ACCESSORIES

I’m a simple girl who is still learning how to accessorize. (Bear with me, loves!) But, in the fall, I find it to be a tad easier since scarves seem to never go out of style.

*Que Animal Print*

I don’t know any girl who doesn’t like a good leopard print. Just ask JLO, who wore a clingy gown with this pattern covering it to the MET ball earlier this year.

Now, put the two above items together and what do you get? A leopard print scarf. Perfect for any occasion, doesn’t commit to any single type of outfit, AND keeps you warm; yes, all of these things can exist in one item. 🙂 I was fortunate enough to get this scarf for just $5 during a sale online at Charlotte Russe. Below I am pictured wearing it (and my baby 😉 ) with a little black dress, black stockings, neutral knee-high boots, and a suede jacket.

Leopard Print Infinity Scarf

ezzyleopard

There you have my October favorites, everyone! Now, it’s nearly November and we have the job to have yet another lovely month of life in just a little colder weather. ♥

Have a great day!!

4 thoughts on “October 2013 Favorites!

Leave a Reply

