Maven Box by Julep {Starter Box}

Hello, beautiful! I have been waiting for a little over a week to post this because I wanted to make sure that I made proper use and judgements of the products I got in my Maven Box.

What is a Maven Box, you ask? Well, it’s just about the cutest little box of nail polish and beauty secrets that you could get! Click HERE to subscribe for your own.

IMG_9573

I’ll admit that the only reason I initially opted into this was because the first Maven Box was free! Yes, my friends, all I had to do was use the code “FREEBOX”, pay shipping & handling ($4), and shortly got a sweet reward; two Julep nail polishes and two deluxe, beauty product samples.

IMG_9576

I used to never be very interested in finger nail polish but, in the past year or so, I can hardly wait to change up the color! Because I have two kids and so much to accomplish each day/week (= not much time to pamper myself), I usually get a manicure every couple of weeks so, it takes a little longer for me to get through my various bottles. But, as soon as I opened this box, I knew that I’d be trying one of the colors at my next appointment. The box I got in the mail was, “Classic with a Twist”.

IMG_9584

Padma- Royal Plum Creme

This shade is a very deep, royal purple with a hint of shimmer. I have yet to try this color on my nails but, I can tell you that in the bottle it’s gorgeous! It’s perfect for fall because it has a sophisticated, vampy vibe that you can get away with in the office and to your girlfriend’s bachelorette party this weekend.

I think this is a universally flattering color and I’ll be proud to sport this for two weeks at a time. Padma is subtle enough to stay mature and sparkly enough to be fun and flirty.

(Retails for $14 if you don’t have a Maven membership.)

Florence- Classic Camel Creme

I would not describe this color as “camel”. It’s not so much a beige or taupe as it is a true cream. That being said, it’s quite lovely! I currently have it on my nails and I couldn’t be happier with the lighter neutral color that can be worn all year long. It’s airy and luscious but, not over the top girly. An elegant color for a classy lady…which I know all of you are 😉

My personal opinion is that this would look better on lighter skin tones verses very tanned.  I would suggest that you swatch this (if the store allows) to see if it’s right for you, before you take the $14 plunge to buy.

Instant Warming Foot Scrub .07 fl oz

IMG_9581

The first words on the back of this are, “Bet you say WOW!” That made me super excited to try this! Unfortunately, it was a bit underwhelming.

I didn’t really feel a warming sensation while I was using it and the formula seemed really thin. It also didn’t smell like much of anything although it was said to have a cucumber scent. The pumice, however, was very nice and removed a lot of dead skin that you would otherwise have trouble removing with a loofa. My feet felt smoother than I had guessed they would and I was pleased with the overall result. I would recommend, though, applying a very saturating lotion to your feet after use, since shortly after my shower, I felt like my feet has just had all of the moisture removed from them. But, I can’t say that this was a consequence of usage or the quality of the product.

I don’t think I would buy this full-size but, if you feel like you want to try it for yourself, it’s on sale now for $12.99. Click HERE to start shopping!

Luxe Repair Skin Serum .60 fl oz

IMG_9580

I was SUPER DUPER impressed with this! I got a full-size bottle, which I give major props to Julep for giving out! A hydrating, anti-aging, rebuilding serum for all skin types. Plus, it can be used in the morning, evening, or both!

At first, I was a little skeptical about this product just because I thought,  “I’m 21. What do I need anti-aging formula for?” But, from the first use, I’ve been addicted!

You only need a few drops on your finger tips, slowly rubbed onto your face, to deliver a completely smooth and supple surface. The serum isn’t greasy and is absorbed quickly. It’s made to use underneath of your moisturizer and I swear it helps mine work even better! Here are some of the pros, according to the Julep website:

Features & Benefits:

  • Rosehip seed oil – a nourishing oil (and natural source of vitamins A and C) that helps to reduce the appearance of wrinkles and post-acne marks. Contains natural fatty acids that bond moisture to skin2) Malvaceae Lipid            Extract™ – a lipid complex that provides immediate and long-lasting hydration and works to rebuild skin structure from the inside out3) Green coffee bean oil – a natural anti-inflammatory that promotes cell turnover
  • Malvaceae Lipid Extract™ – a lipid complex that provides immediate and long-lasting hydration and works to rebuild skin structure from the inside out
  • Green coffee bean oil – a natural anti-inflammatory that promotes cell turnover
I’m not sure how many Maven Boxes I’ll opt-in for and this baby sells for $28.00 if you’re a non-member. But, the favors this has done for my skin have me strongly considering re-purchase. Either way, I can guarantee a reappearance in my November faves! 
I hope you enjoyed the Maven Box as much as I have and if you decided to get your own, or already have, post the link to your review in the comments! Thanks, loves!
2 thoughts on “Maven Box by Julep {Starter Box}

  1. Pingback: November 2013 Favorites | Lay Bare, With A Little Flair

Leave a Reply

