Smashbox Full Exposure Palette +

IMG_9911

When I saw this palette on the Sephora website, I was immediately swooning. My love of Smashbox cosmetics has been on high since my first encounter and I have no intention of turning back. If you’re a Smashbox groupie then, no doubt, you feel the same way.

On one of my November wishlist post, I said that even though I didn’t really “need” another palette, I wanted to get this one to replace my old Stila one that I felt wasn’t really getting the job done anymore. Plus, most of my other eyeshadows (individual & grouped) include more vibrant colors and I could use something with a more natural finish. So, I opted for the neutrals in this all-inclusive palette.

IMG_9912IMG_9914

The top row is all shimmer, ranging from a reddish brown to a blueish gray. They are packed with glimmer but, without the coarse, sandy feeling that some products have. They go on smoothly with little fallout and have a very build-able pigment. The bottom row, of matte, start at a warm brown and end at a sleek black. They blend without error and the staying power of each and every hue is significant. They don’t crease or fade!

I feel that while these two columns of color are subtle, they provide an understated glam that anyone could truly appreciate. I have been experimenting with this set for the last couple of weeks and each time I went out with a look accrued from it, I got many more compliments than I do with a more theatrical eye makeup look. As one of my friends put it, “It gives you a little something extra.” I, personally, think that these shadows are extremely fab when used with a great set of lashes. I recently switched to using Ardell Demi Wispies and I’ll never use another pair!

I didn’t swatch these for you because the saturation was virtually impossible to photograph one by one in bright sunlight. I will warn you, though, if you are planning to by this and expect it to be the Urban Decay NAKED palette (1,2, or 3) you would be sorely mistaken. This palette is a bit more basic and effortless; an everyday essential. However, the two palettes are similar in price.

IMG_9922

It comes with a dual ended brush; one side for shimmer and one side for matte. The brush is the only thing about this purchase that I don’t love. I feel like it doesn’t give you enough of a wash of color and the bristles are possibly too rough to pick up a lot of pigment. I am a big fan of my EcoTools  and would advise you to use whatever brush set you are comfortable with.

IMG_9923

I am crazy about the ‘according to eye shape’ guide that came with the buy. It includes three application ideas for every eye shape. Below is mine…

IMG_0393

When you acquire the Full Exposure palette you also receive a sample of Smashbox’s Full Exposure Mascara. I found this formula to be a little ‘wet’ and doesn’t seem to concrete my eyelash curl like others do. The brush is a bit thick for my liking and, although the color is black, I don’t feel like it adds any extra “umph” (in terms of depth) to my lashes. Overall, a mediocre mascara. I am definitely sticking by my favorite of theirs; Hyperlash.

IMG_9925

So there you have it, loves! I am, overall, pleased with my decision to not let this remain on my wishlist for another month. 🙂 I hope you enjoyed the review! Leave comments below– I love hearing from you!

Happy Hump Day!

5 thoughts on “Smashbox Full Exposure Palette +

  1. Pingback: What’s In My Bag? (Bahamas) | Lay Bare, With A Little Flair

Leave a Reply

