Warm Winter Thoughts… “Wish You Were Here”

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you know that I’m a bit of a daydreamer and once I have my sights set on something, I’m a little obsessed. Lately, I’ve been a tad fixated on vacations! My hubby and I haven’t had a real trip together, just for the two of us, for a couple of years & I am itching to get out of town.
The fickle weather, grey skies, and overdose on pumpkin spice lattes have had their way with me and I’m (mentally) moving on to bigger and better things. Or, at least, warmer & lazier. Win/win situation, right?
Below are three hot vacation spots for winter getaways and the appropriate clothing for the three main phases of the trip… Click the photos to shop the looks in each collection.

KAUAI

A fantasy land for any adventure seeker, Hawaii is the perfect mix of fun and relaxation. I made sure to include tropical colors– like coral, red, and turquoise– comfortable fabrics, and simple accessories. Something about the Hawaiian vibe makes you feel at ease just contemplating going there and I think that the clothes worn on a trip there should help convey that perception.

That’s why you’ll notice small things i.e., the embroidered flat, the lush, floral print bikini, & military style jacket with a feminine day dress. All of these I incorporated to keep a laid back, island aura.

Kauai

GREECE

In my humble opinion, Grecian style  is the epitome of breezy composure. Everything is simple, stylish, and sophisticated. I drool over the holidays that Tanya Burr spends there and plasters photos of all over over Instagram… Honestly– SO. GORGEOUS.

Personally, I’ve always wanted to go to Santorini but, there are 226 more island to choose from when deciding on a romantic venture overseas. Not to mention there are several Aegean Sea cruises in that region. Isn’t it tempting to take one and explore more than one destination?

Uncomplicated lines, luxe fabrics, and charming details combine all the outfits in this collection into the perfect wardrobe staples for a whimsical, excursion overseas.

Greece

RIO DE JANEIRO

What do you think of when you hear about Rio? My mind automatically goes to PARTY! The music, the food, the language… I just want to drink it all in! The sun, the tan lines, the leisure; there is nothing about Rio that doesn’t sound appealing!

That’s why this collection is all about pattern. From the skirt with a bright fuchsia tee and gladiator sandal to the crop top and palazzo pants (not to mention the gorgeous swimwear), every basic outfit has a focal point.

Rio

Do any of you have plans to get out of town/country for a week or so this winter? If so, where are you headed? What are you bringing? Leave me a comment and let me know!

TGIF!! Have a fabulous start to your weekend!

One thought on “Warm Winter Thoughts… “Wish You Were Here”

  1. Pingback: December 2013 Wishlist | Lay Bare, With A Little Flair

Leave a Reply

