Please Advise… Self-Tanning

Hello, my lovelies!

It’s a new year and it’s a new me; I hope you are all feeling amazing! I sincerely apologize for my hiatus from the blogosphere. I have missed you all-  your stories, ootd’s, tips & tricks- more than you know.

Over the Christmas holiday my family and I traveled to my in-law’s (about 700 miles away) and ended up staying for 11 days! I had limited internet access while I was there. Of course, as soon as I arrived home I ended up getting the flu and basically slept for the next week. On top of it all, my photography business ended on a high note last year, however, it stuck me with a little unfinished work that I have been trying to catch up on. After a couple of you checked up on me via Twitter, I realized that it has been almost a month since I posted anything significant. I even skipped my December favorites! I am completely appalled at myself and promise that I will try to keep you more up to date on things going on in my life from now on so I don’t just seem like a phantom blogger.

That being said, if you guys have any special moments that you shared with you family and friends while I was away please let me know in the comments or shoot me an email. I would LOVE to hear from you!

_______________________________________________________________

So, I am so psyched up about going on our cruise in the next couple of weeks, I can’t even stand it. I bought an amazing little number from ModCloth & a high-waisted bikini from ASOS that is the perfect suit for a somewhat self-conscious mom like me. Both of these purchases are pictured below…

But, now, what I really need, after spending most of this awkwardly, warm winter inside is a base tan. And, I am looking to you for suggestions! I am against spray tanning because when it starts wearing off it looks like I have a disease. It’s very spotty and flaky… Or, at least, it has been in the past.

Also, I am not one of those girls who worships tanning beds and have been disappointed in the lack of “immediate” results that have been promised to me but, not delivered; even in high pressure beds. I have tried Jergen’s Natural Glow sunless tanning lotion and Neutrogena MicoMist airbrush sunless tanner. Unfortunately, neither of them have given me a sufficient foundation without looking a bit orange.

So, this is where you stunners come in… I need, desperately, your advice on an actually fool proof, affordable, sunless tanner for a medium skinned gal like me. Please, leave recommendations in the comments below! We are leaving on February 1st so I don’t have much time to waste. I appreciate your help!

One thought on “Please Advise… Self-Tanning

  1. Have you tried Fake Bake for a sunless tan. It’s a pretty good product. I recommend purchasing the Fake Bake exfoliator as well. It’s an important step that is sometimes over looked. The exfoliator does not contain any oils or lotions like many other products. This is important because if you use a product that is moisturizing before applying the Fake Bake tanner then you are left streaky and blotchy. Fake Bake tanner contains a bronzer in it so you can see where you apply it. I will warn you it is very brown and can look scary but it’s really not. I recommend applying it at night. When you shower the next morning much of that color guard rinses off. You can apply it a few days in a row to build up to a darker color. It never looks orange. Always looks brown.

Leave a Reply

