Lay Bare BUMP: 5 Weeks Pregnant

Baby is… this size of a sesame seed!

Photo borrowed from MidEats.com

Well, it’s safe to say that thus far, baby number two is a hellion. But, of course, I mean that in the most endearing way possible. As mothers, no matter what our bodies have to go through, we love our kids just the same.

I am now 5 weeks pregnant and actually posting on my turn-over day, Tuesday. I didn’t get to do that last week but, hopefully, from here on out I can be a more consistent on that front. I want you guys there with me every step of the way with this pregnancy and the experiences I go throw during it. 🙂

This week, so much is happening to the little tadpole in my tummy. Although he or she might not look like much, their heart is dividing into different chambers, starting to beat on its own, and all of the under skin tissues (like cartilage, bones, muscles…etc) are beginning to be built. The developments that take place between now and the next few weeks are completely fascinating!

This past week has been even harder than the previous couple. I am constantly exhausted and it seems like it gets more extreme every day. Enhanced by the fact that, instead of throwing up when I’m nauseous, I have diarrhea on a daily basis. (TMI?) I want to take numerous naps a day that I don’t have time for and I want to eat anything rich and creamy. Whether it’s chocolatey or cheesy… I need it! High fat content seems to be the direction this baby is steering me towards and I’m not a huge fan. It’s really hard to stay away from the junk foods I’m craving because Jon is out of town again and I don’t like cooking for just me, when my step-son is at his mom’s house. But, I’ve been really interested in the paleo diet and think I might try to incorporate some (not all) of those recipes and principles into my everyday eating so that I can get back on track. If any one of you are on this diet, please feel free to share your opinions of the pros/cons with me either in the comments below or via email.

My bloat and water weight are fluctuating uncomfortably. I think I’m the only one who notices but, I am definitely more enthusiastic to wake up and put on leggings or yoga pants than a pair of jeans. I have a feeling that I am going to start showing a lot sooner with this baby, which I hear is typical for the second. But, I’m nervous about giving up what I had gained back of my body so quickly. I have found that when I try to go jogging I can’t breathe well so, I am doing a lot of walking and prenatal pilates by Lizbeth Garcia. I did these same pilates when I was pregnant last time and found them extremely helpful is strengthening the core areas needed for endurance during labor.

My biggest fear this week has been that a few people have mentioned the possibility (not probability) of me having twins since there are a couple of them in our family trees. And as much love as I can imagine having for those two little beings… I am just completely overwhelmed by the thought of two newborns! In all reality, I’m not sure the percentage of the likeliness of that happening but, I think every woman wonders about the unknown to an extent. All anxiety will be put aside though when we go for our first ultrasound in a couple of weeks.

One of the best things about being pregnant is the benefits it gives to my skin. I have mentioned before that I have never really been the type to have a lot of breakouts but, when I’m pregnant they are even farther and fewer between. My skin feels soft, looks clear, and I’ve been told by many that I am already exuding a glow. I am considering doing a “My Morning Routine” post so that you guys know what products I’m using to help my skin look its best. Of course, the number one thing you can do is to exercise regularly and have a balanced diet to minimize surface aggravation.

One more thing… I am happy to announce that I have a few items for sale in my Etsy store; my favorite is the woman’s tank top. There is more inventory to come! If you have suggestions for what you’d like to see in my next design, I’m open-minded and would love to hear your ideas.

4269094_1

 

Have a happy Tuesday everyone!! I’ll see you back here later this week for my February favorites! 😉

bloglovin . twitter . instagram 

 

One thought on “Lay Bare BUMP: 5 Weeks Pregnant

Leave a Reply

