February 2014 Faves

My February favorites are right on time this month and this go ’round it’s all about beauty. As you can see above I’ve spent a lot of time in February trying out new products and picking out the ones I loved best. I hope that if you decide to pick them up, you adore them just as much.
First up, Lorac TANtilizer deep body bronzer. Read my full review from earlier in the week HERE. I’ve been desperately trying to use this as sparingly as possible but, I’m practically addicted to the radiance it instantly gives my skin. It is by far the best temporary, long-wearing, self-tanning makeup that I’ve used this far into my blogging career and beforehand. Spring breakers, especially, have GOT to give this a go!
I mentioned last month that I have fallen in love with the Maybelline ColorSensational Elixir Lip Color line. In January, I would’ve told you my favorite one was the shade “Carmel Infused”. This month, I have opted for a more ‘springy’ hue called “Celestial Coral”. It’s a very saturated, peachy/pink, blush color. The shine is ridiculously sexy and it stays on forever!  What I love about these is that they feel luxurious and are long-lasting but, retail for only $8.99. I think these are going to be my go-to, year round lip glosses. The next tint I plan to purchase is “Signature Scarlet”. Check these out at your local drugstore asap!
You know that I think, YouTube sensation and UK blogger, Tanya Burr‘s word as good as gold. (She has just launched her own line of nail polishes and lip glosses. Take a look HERE!) In one of her recent tutorials for spring makeup she used Revlon ColorStay Foundation for a flawless, luminous finish. Shortly after, I bought my own bottle in “Early Tan” and it matches my skin seamlessly. It is super easy to blend, doesn’t cake, and gives your skin a smooth, unblemished appearance. The ONLY complaint I have with this is the same as Tanya’s; the packaging. I wish this little bottle of goodness had a pump because it is quite hard to shake/pour out onto the back of your hand for application. Otherwise, this is a great purchase for simple spring and summer makeup.
Sadly, the Boots Original Beauty Formula Vanishing Day Cream that I showed you in my “What’s In My Bag? (Bahamas)” post is discontinued. The smell is extremely spa-like; it applies like a lotion but, soaks into your skin very subtly and doesn’t provide extra shine. It has done wonders for priming my face before foundation! I will be looking for a good substitute- something similar- so if you have any suggestions, please let me know. I am becoming more and more hooked on the Boots brand for my skin care routine. Do any of you guys use Boots on a daily basis?
Brazen Cosmetics gets an honorable mention in this post, and for darn good reason! Many of you might not know that I subscribe to the Beauty Army box each month because I don’t devote an entire post to it each time. I mostly pick out one or two of my favorite products from the box and review them. I got a sample a couple of months ago of Brazen Cosmetics eyeshadow in a deep, shimmery, blue/purple called “Unapologetic”.  At first, I was a little scared to use such a pigmented, dark color but, this month I pulled it out of the drawer and have been working it into a number of different bold looks. The only thing I don’t like about this, since it’s a loose powder there is A LOT of fall out. Personally, though, the color pay off was big enough that I looked past the need for touch ups pretty easily.
(See the photo below for an example using this product lightly on the outer corners of my eyes.)
IMG_0268
IMG_0298
For those of you who don’t know Brazen is an indie cosmetics company that boast high pigmentation, long-lasting wear, and unique colors. In my opinion, they deliver!
L’Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes mascara has been my favorite this month. It doesn’t give me quite as plump a lash line as Maybelline’s Falsies but, it does lengthen and darken every single lash! It doesn’t clump or flake, and it’s not so wet that it gets all over your under eye area, post application. I like to put on 2-3 layers of this formula to get the best results.
In keeping with L’Oreal, I’ve been obsessed with their Infallible BlackBuster Eyeliner. This felt tip, marker styled, graphic liner pen supplies a mistake-proof liner technique for even the most makeup challenged. It has improved my cat eye technique immensely! Although the tip seems pretty large, it is easy to adjust your control and make the line as thick or as thin as you like. GO BUY THIS! You won’t regret it.
My last two favorites are blushes. I’ve been drawn to natural skin tones and flushy pinks lately. I told you in January that I had picked up  Maybelline Face Studio Master Glaze Glisten Blush Stick in “Warm Nude” but, I didn’t get to use it until mid-February. It could be that blush sticks are now my favorite thing! They are extremely convenient, fuse harmoniously into the rest of your makeup, and are great for accentuating your contoured cheekbones. My one and only qualm is that these particular ones only come in six shades. Nevertheless, a great $10 investment.
NYX cosmetics has caught my eye more and more recently, especially when I’m doing research on dupes for more expensive products. Earlier in the month I came across a post on blush cheats for NARS “Orgasm”; a cult favorite. “Orgasm” is popular because it’s said to give you a beaming, “just had sex”, seductive look. It’s a great color on just about every skin tone and can be used all year long. But, $30 is a high price to pay (although, I adore NARS blush more than anything) if you don’t have the extra cash floating around.
NYX offers a more practical, yet similar, alternative in the color “Pinched”. This light reflective, coral/pink, gold shimmer infused, powder blush provides a rich color that can be applied with a light or heavy hand. The formula is soft and satiny and gives off a natural brilliance and warmth. I’ve been wearing this almost daily. Priced at only $5!
Thanks for reading, loves! 🙂 I hope you enjoyed catching up on my favorite products from this finicky February! See you tomorrow for “Saturday Spoils”… Until then, TGIF!
2 thoughts on “February 2014 Faves

  1. I love that makeup look on you! I’m glad you got Pinched and like it, too. Also, a good way I’ve found to use the Colorstay foundation is to dip a q-tip in to scoop some out and use that to dot it onto my face, which keeps the rim from getting dried foundation stuck to it and it keeps the foundation from being left open too long (as you’ve probably noticed, it sets fast). It will probably waste a little foundation because you can’t really measure out how much you want, but it works. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

